Bookstore Signings and Events

We are lucky that so many authors visit or live on beautiful Cape Cod, and are happy to meet people on our breezy, covered deck with their book displays available for signing.

If you cannot make an event, but would like a personalized copy, simply call the store to pre-pay and we will hold it for pickup after the event or ship it to you.

All events are held at the store unless otherwise noted.

To sign up for our email newsletters of upcoming events, please click here! 


July 18th at 5pm: 

Meet the Authors of Summer Novels!

Wine, appetizers, and a meet and greet with three talented New England authors whose books are terrific for your summer reading stacks! Join us for a celebration of compelling novels!

Hannah McKinnon, Lisa Duffy, and Jeanne Blasberg will join us to meet readers and talk about their recent publications.

The Summer House by Hannah McKinnon

($16.00 paperback)

When Flossy Merrill summons her children to the beloved family beach house to celebrate their father's eightieth birthday, both cherished memories and long-kept secrets come to light in this charming and lyrical novel from the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer.

Flossy Merrill has managed to--somewhat begrudgingly--gather her three ungrateful grown children from their dysfunctional lives for a summer reunion at the family's Rhode Island beach house. Clementine, her youngest child and a young mother of two small children, has caused Flossy the most worry after enduring a tragically life-altering year. But Samuel and his partner Evan are not far behind in their ability to alarm: their prospective adoption search has just taken a heart-wrenching turn. Only Paige, the eldest of the headstrong Merrill clan, is her usual self: arriving precisely on time with her well-adapted teens. Little does her family know that she, too, is facing personal struggles of her own.

No matter. With her family finally congregated under one seaside roof, Flossy is determined to steer her family back on course even as she prepares to reveal the fate of the summer house that everyone has thus far taken for granted: she's selling it. The Merrill children are both shocked and outraged and each returns to memories of their childhoods at their once beloved summer house--the house where they have not only grown up, but from which they have grown away. With each lost in their respective heartaches, Clementine, Samuel, and Paige will be forced to reconsider what really matters before they all say goodbye to a house that not only defined their summers, but, ultimately, the ways in which they define themselves. Featuring McKinnon's "sharp and evocative" ( Kirkus Reviews) voice, this warm-hearted novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Alice Monroe.

Hannah McKinnon is the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer. She graduated from Connecticut College and the University of South Australia. She lives in Fairfield County, Connecticut, with her family, a flock of chickens, and two rescue dogs.

The Salt House by Lisa Duffy

($16.00 paperback)

*Real Simple "Best Books of June"
*Refinery29 "Best Beach Reads of 2017"

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy.

In the coastal town of Alden, Maine, Hope and Jack Kelly have settled down to a life of wedded bliss. They have a beautiful family, a growing lobster business, and the Salt House--the dilapidated oceanfront cottage they're renovating into their dream home. But tragedy strikes when their young daughter doesn't wake up from her afternoon nap, taking her last breath without making a sound.

A year later, each member of the Kelly family navigates the world on their own private island of grief. Hope spends hours staring at her daughter's ashes, unable to let go. Jack works to the point of exhaustion in an attempt to avoid his crumbling marriage. Their daughters, Jess and Kat, struggle to come to terms with the loss of their younger sister while watching their parents fall apart.

When Jack's old rival, Ryland Finn, threatens his fishing territory, he ignites emotions that propel the Kelly family toward circumstances that will either tear them apart--or be the path to their family's future.

Told in alternating voices, The Salt House is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope.

Lisa Duffy received her MFA in creative writing from The University of Massachusetts Boston. Her short fiction was nominated for a Pushcart Prize and can be found in The Drum Literary MagazineSo To Speak, The Breakwater Review, Let the Bucket Down and elsewhere. Lisa is the founding editor of ROAR Magazine, a literary magazine supporting women in the arts. She lives in the Boston area with her husband and three children.

Eden by Jeanne Blasberg

Becca Meister Fitzpatrick--wife, mother, grandmother, and pillar of the community--is the dutiful steward of her family's iconic summer tradition . . . until she discovers her recently deceased husband squandered their nest egg. As she struggles to accept that this is likely her last season in Long Harbor, Becca is inspired by her granddaughter's boldness in the face of impending single-motherhood, and summons the courage to reveal a secret she was forced to bury long ago: the existence of a daughter she gave up fifty years ago. The question now is how her other daughter, Rachel--with whom Becca has always had a strained relationship--will react. 


Eden is the account of the days leading up to the Fourth of July weekend, as Becca prepares to disclose her secret and her son and brothers conspire to put the estate on the market, interwoven with the century-old history of Becca's family--her parents' beginnings and ascent into affluence, and her mother's own secret struggles in the grand home her father named "Eden."

Jeanne Blasberg is a voracious observer of human nature and has kept a journal since childhood. After graduating from Smith College, she surprised everyone who knew her by embarking on a career in finance, making stops on Wall Street, Macy's and Harvard Business School, where she wrote case studies and business articles. A firm believer that you are never too old to change course, Jeanne enrolled at Grub Street, one of the country's pre-eminent creative writing centers, where she turned her attention to memoir and later fiction. Eden is her debut novel. Jeanne and her husband split their time between Boston and Westerly, RI. When not writing, she can be found playing squash, skiing, or taking in the sunset over Little Narragansett Bay. 


July 19th from 3-5pm:

The Jersey Brothers Booksigning by Author Sally Mott Freeman

 

The Jersey Brothers captures the real-life story of three brothers whose bond to family and love for country take them to extraordinary lengths at one of the most pivotal points in American history. From the decks of the USS Enterprise to the depths of the Japanese prison camps, Sally Mott Freeman takes readers on an epic journey in this remarkable tribute to the Greatest Generation."
- Senator John McCain, New York Times bestselling author of Thirteen Soldiers

An evocative real-life tale of agony and triumph about brotherly love and a young American who discovers his personal courage amidst the tortures of war.Freeman had me rooting for these Jersey boys on every page.
James Bradley, New York Times bestselling author of Flags of Our Fathers "
 

 


Wednesday, July 26th from 2-3:30

When Angels Play Poker Booksigning with Maura O'Leary

A seasoned con-artist named Jimmy lands himself in a new high-end senior living complex, and is looking forward to hanging out with a hot chick he meets the first weekend there, when he suddenly drops dead of a heart attack, and arrives in Heaven.

While adjusting to the shock of his new situation, Jimmy meets his elder angel guide Norm, and is assigned to watch over a woman on earth he never knew before. He finds out the woman, Maura, is his brother's girlfriend and he learns from Norm that he'll play a critical role in helping Maura through the relationship.

As time goes by though, Jimmy realizes Maura's life is much less exciting than his was on Earth. He finally approaches Norm, and tells him how bored he is. That's when he is told that sometimes while waiting for events to unfold on earth, even Angels get to play poker in Heaven....

If you're wondering what Angels do all day, immerse yourself in a charming, inspirational story about the adventures in Heaven when an ordinary couple go about their lives on earth, while being watched over, prayed for, and loved every day.


Saturday, July 29th at 2pm

Chatham Through Time

Booksigning with Author Janet Daly

 

Chatham’s location, spectacular coastline, bountiful resources of seafood, and a temperate climate attract people. First it was the Monomoyick tribe, then in the 17th century, English settlers who gave it the name Chatham. Ever since, people of all walks of life—fishermen, merchants, clergy, artisans, sportsmen, royalty, vacationers, and more recently, retirees—have found Chatham the ideal destination to realize their hopes and dreams. At the beginning of the 20th century, Chatham was a fishing village with a population of about 1,750 people. In the 2010 census, the population was 6,125, although in the summer it can explode to about 20,000, not counting vacationers in the town’s hotels, inns, and bed and breakfasts. While fishing is the primary occupation, tourism thrives for the same reasons the original residents were drawn to this charming seaside town. A picture-perfect Main Street, beautiful beaches, fine restaurants and hotels, and a full assortment of sports, arts, and entertainment make Chatham a perfect destination!