Bookstore Signings and Events

We are lucky that so many authors visit or live on beautiful Cape Cod, and are happy to meet people on our breezy, covered deck with their book displays available for signing.

If you cannot make an event, but would like a personalized copy, simply call the store to pre-pay and we will hold it for pickup after the event or ship it to you.

All events are held at the store unless otherwise noted.

To sign up for our email newsletters of upcoming events, please click here! 

August 13th from 10am- 12pm

A Special Story Time with Author Nancy Cote! Stories and crafts with the author and illustrator, Nancy Cote!

Watch the Birdie!

jktwatchthebirdie.gif

Mousey was watching a baby bird when it fell from its nest. The baby bird is okay, but she can t fly yet! So how will she get back up the tree to safety? Mousey may be too small to get the baby bird back up by himself, but maybe he can find somebody else who can! Maybe a frog can jump high enough. Or maybe a bunny can hop far enough. Maybe a snail will be able to crawl his way up the tree . . .Will Mousey be able to save the baby bird? Or will the hungry cat get in the way of Mousey s valiant attempts? Sometimes it s just the size of your heart that really counts.


"Watch the Birdie!" is a delightful storybook about bravery and friendship. Nancy Cote s loyal little mouse is sure to capture the hearts of young readers everywhere. With adorable illustrations and silly narration, Cote has made "Watch the Birdie!" a truly fun read for all.

August 13th at 6pm

Local author and teacher Elizabeth Rudnick celebrates the release of "Pete's Dragon" by signing her Disney novel "Pete's Dragon: The Lost Years" at the Chatham Orpheum during opening weekend of the film!

 

When a young boy named Pete gets lost in a gigantic forest, he forms an unforgettable friendship with a giant flying dragon named Elliot. Based in the world of the film Pete's Dragon, this original story features original illustrations, explores Pete and Elliot's adventures and struggles in the forest and tells the tale of the lost years not shown in the film.

August 16th from 4-6pm

"Wine Meet and Greet" with Author Dawn Tripp!

Free and open to the public - a wonderful opportunity to meet Dawn Tripp, author of the national bestseller Georgia: A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe. "In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan's Loving Frank,  Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist.

 

August 17th at 10am

A special Wednesday Story Time with author and illustrator Julia Denos! ART AND COLOR!

Swatch! The Girl Who Loved Color

A vibrant picture book featuring an irrepressible new character perfect for fans of The Dot and Beautiful Oops! from acclaimed illustrator Julia Denos.

In a place where color ran wild, there lived a girl who was wilder still. Her name was Swatch, and color was her passion. From brave green to in-between gray to rumble-tumble pink . . . Swatch wanted to collect them all. But colors don t always like to be tamed. . . .

This is an exuberant celebration of all the beauty and color that make up our lives."

August 17th at 1pm

A special DOUBLE STORY TIME day!

Author and illustrator Jennifer Goldfinger will visit for her new back to school book, and stay for signing and special Tiger Cookies after! A great chance to meet another author! 

Hello My Name is Tiger

Sometimes Toby likes being a cat more than a boy, so when it is time to go to school he becomes a timid kitten, but after gathering his courage, he soon learns that everything is more fun with friends.

August 18th from 2-4pm

Susan Baird Signs

"Summers In Chatham"

an exquisite children's book illustrated by her talented niece, Danielle Berg, which touches upon all the joyful moments of a summer in Chatham.

 This is a story of sand and sea
Of being together
In a magic place made
For you and me.

Of love and family,
And taking the time
To be together
Just to unwind.

Of giants, sandcastles
Sun filled days and starry nights.
Looking at the Lighthouse and
Feeling its healing light.

But, most of all,
It is a story of our vacations in Chatham,
And what they will always mean
To our family.

 

August 19th from 2-4pm

Author Gary Sikorski signs

101 Things to Do on Martha's Vineyard and

101 Things to Do In Rhode Island

jkt101marthasvineyard.gif

Take an informative journey of 101 things to do and see in the popular summer playground island of Martha's Vineyard, off the coast of Massachusetts. Through 231 stunning photographs, explore the streets lined with majestic white-clapboard captains' mansions in Edgartown, reach for the brass ring on a Victorian carousel in Oak Bluffs, hike the scenic clay cliffs in Aquinnah, pick blueberries right from the bush in Chilmark, and feast on a freshly steamed lobster as the sun sets over the fishing village of Menemsha. Whether it's your first trip to the island or you're a frequent visitor, you are sure to find something new and exciting that Martha's Vineyard has to offer.

 

Travel with local resident and photographer Gary J. Sikorski on a tour of 101 things to do and see in this beautiful coastal state. Known for its sandy beaches and quaint seaside towns, the smallest state contains many big wonders. Through more than 300 stunning photographs, explore cramped antique shops in Chepachet, climb historic lighthouse towers on Narragansett Bay, marvel at lavish Great Gatsby-era mansions in Newport, visit world-class art galleries in Providence, climb the rocky cliffs on Block Island, and feast on freshly steamed lobster with the ocean breeze blowing through your hair in Bristol. Captions and text include helpful tips from a local's perspective and other useful information. Handy maps of the state, Newport, Providence, and Block Island are also included. Whether it s your first trip to the Ocean State or you re a local, you are sure to find something new and exciting that Rhode Island has to offer."

Past Signings from This Year

Saturday, May 28th from 2-4pm

John Hutchinson Signs "Bertie's Adventures at the Beach"

July 1st from 2-4pm: Ann Hymes signs her new novel, set in Chatham! Shadow of Whimsy: A Cape Cod Love Story    Several generations of one family have lived, loved, and lied at Whimsy Towers, a unique oceanfront house in Chatham, Massachusetts. Strong women who refuse to be suffocated by marriage have found excitement and refuge in this house filled with artists and parties. Love surfaces in unexpected ways. July 1st from 4-8pm: Funtastic Painter, Valerie Cameron facepaints on our deck! Kids can get a whimsical design before the Friday Night Band Concert! July 2nd from 2-4pm: The Cape Cod Chronicle's Alan Pollock signs his new book Chatham: Images of Modern America In 1987, the hungry Atlantic Ocean broke the barrier beach protecting Chatham, swallowing a handful of shorefront houses. But in the last half century, most of the change that has come to this town on the elbow of Cape Cod has been more subtle. Historic houses gave way to hotels when Chatham became an attractive vacation destination for motorists, and then the hotels became homes again as summer visitors sought to have a place of their own for retirement. Amid real estate booms, Chathamites struggled to keep the town's history and natural beauty from being erased. Treasures like the Godfrey gristmill, the Marconi wireless station, and even the Main Street School fell into disrepair but were later preserved. Chatham continues its wrestle with nature, confronting old challenges like erosion and new ones like water quality--and now great white sharks. July 6th at 10am: Pete the Cat Visits for Wednesday Story Time! July 13th at 10am: Gator Dad with Author Brian Lies From seemingly mundane tasks such as grocery shopping to more active pursuits like a romp at the park and fort-building, a loving and playful father alligator shows his gator kids that the simplest pleasures done together can make for an incredibly fun day. Presented by "New York Times" bestselling author Brian Lies ("Bats at the Beach"), this heartwarming story demonstrates a series of very special ways children can connect with their fathers and should appeal to parents and little readers everywhere."

July 1st from 2-4pm: Ann Hymes signs her new novel, set in Chatham!

Shadow of Whimsy: A Cape Cod Love Story   

Several generations of one family have lived, loved, and lied at Whimsy Towers, a unique oceanfront house in Chatham, Massachusetts. Strong women who refuse to be suffocated by marriage have found excitement and refuge in this house filled with artists and parties. Love surfaces in unexpected ways.

July 1st from 4-8pm: Funtastic Painter, Valerie Cameron facepaints on our deck! Kids can get a whimsical design before the Friday Night Band Concert!

July 2nd from 2-4pm: The Cape Cod Chronicle's Alan Pollock signs his new book

Chatham: Images of Modern America

In 1987, the hungry Atlantic Ocean broke the barrier beach protecting Chatham, swallowing a handful of shorefront houses. But in the last half century, most of the change that has come to this town on the elbow of Cape Cod has been more subtle. Historic houses gave way to hotels when Chatham became an attractive vacation destination for motorists, and then the hotels became homes again as summer visitors sought to have a place of their own for retirement. Amid real estate booms, Chathamites struggled to keep the town's history and natural beauty from being erased. Treasures like the Godfrey gristmill, the Marconi wireless station, and even the Main Street School fell into disrepair but were later preserved. Chatham continues its wrestle with nature, confronting old challenges like erosion and new ones like water quality--and now great white sharks.

July 6th at 10am: Pete the Cat Visits for Wednesday Story Time!

July 13th at 10am: Gator Dad with Author Brian Lies

From seemingly mundane tasks such as grocery shopping to more active pursuits like a romp at the park and fort-building, a loving and playful father alligator shows his gator kids that the simplest pleasures done together can make for an incredibly fun day. Presented by "New York Times" bestselling author Brian Lies ("Bats at the Beach"), this heartwarming story demonstrates a series of very special ways children can connect with their fathers and should appeal to parents and little readers everywhere."