Upcoming Events

  

We love our author events and feel lucky that so many authors visit or live on beautiful Cape Cod. If you cannot make an event, but would like a personalized copy, just call the store and we will hold it for pickup after the event or ship it to you. All events are held at the store unless otherwise noted.

  

To print a full line-up of last summer's Wednesday Story Times click here, and for our Literary Luncheon Series please click here.

  

To sign up for our email newsletters of upcoming events, please click  

  

Tuesday, April 7th at 6pm at

Cape Cinema

in Dennis

     35 Hope Lane, Dennis, Mass.

 

          

  

Publication Day Book Launch Reception and Talk with Author Lisa Genova

  

Inside the O'Briens

  

  

Tickets Available through Cape Cinema

  

Join bestselling author Lisa Genova for a Publication Day Book Launch Reception & Talk  at Cape Cinema in Dennis! Lisa Genova has􀀀 achieved international fame for her earlier books, including􀀀 Still Alice􀀀, whose main character’s portayal by Julianne Moore􀀀 in the film adaptation, was awarded Best Actress at the Oscars this year!

  

The $25 ticket includes a talk and Q&A with author Lisa Genova, and an appetizer reception with a cash bar. Most importantly, the ticket price also includes a donation to Lisa Genova's "Readers in Action" fundraising for the Huntington Disease Society of America's Human Biology Project.

  

Signed copies of the novel Inside the O’Briens will be for sale and the author will be available for personalized booksignings as well.

  

From award-winning, New York Times bestselling author and neuroscientist Lisa Genova comes a powerful new novel that does for Huntington's Disease what her debut Still Alice did for Alzheimer's.

  

Joe O'Brien is a forty-four-year-old police officer from the Irish Catholic neighborhood of Charlestown, Massachusetts. A devoted husband, proud father of four children in their twenties, and respected officer, Joe begins experiencing bouts of disorganized thinking, uncharacteristic temper outbursts, and strange, involuntary movements. He initially attributes these episodes to the stress of his job, but as these symptoms worsen, he agrees to see a neurologist and is handed a diagnosis that will change his and his family's lives forever: Huntington's Disease. Huntington's is a lethal neurodegenerative disease with no treatment and no cure. Each of Joe's four children has a 50 percent chance of inheriting their father's disease, and a simple blood test can reveal their genetic fate. While watching her potential future in her father's escalating symptoms, twenty-one-year-old daughter Katie struggles with the questions this test imposes on her young adult life. Does she want to know? What if she's gene positive? Can she live with the constant anxiety of not knowing? As Joe's symptoms worsen and he's eventually stripped of his badge and more, Joe struggles to maintain hope and a sense of purpose, while Katie and her siblings must find the courage to either live a life at risk or learn their fate.

  

Praised for writing that explores the resilience of the human spirit (The San Francisco Chronicle), Lisa Genova has once again delivered a novel as powerful and unforgettable as the human insights at its core.

  

  

Saturday, May 23rd at 2pm

  

                 

  

          

  

              

  

Walk & Talk with Author Kim Wright  

  

The Canterbury Sisters   

  

Join author Kim Wright for a glorious half-mile walk up to Chatham's Lighthouse Beach and back to the bookstore - a chance to chat with the author about her new book while enjoying the sunshine after Cape Cod's long winter! 

  

In the vein of Jojo Moyes and Cheryl Strayed's "Wild," a warm and touching novel about a woman who embarks on a pilgrimage to Canterbury Cathedral after losing her mother, sharing life lessons--in the best Chaucer tradition--with eight other women along the way. 

  

Che Milan's life is falling apart. Not only has her longtime lover abruptly dumped her, but her eccentric, demanding mother has recently died. When an urn of ashes arrives, along with a note reminding Che of a half-forgotten promise to take her mother to Canterbury, Che finds herself reluctantly undertaking a pilgrimage. 

Within days she joins a group of women who are walking the sixty miles from London to the shrine of Becket in Canterbury Cathedral, reputed to be the site of miracles. In the best Chaucer tradition, the women swap stories as they walk, each vying to see who can best describe true love. Che, who is a perfectionist and workaholic, loses her cell phone at the first stop and is forced to slow down and really notice the world around her, perhaps for the first time in years. 

  

Through her adventures along the trail, Che finds herself opening up to new possibilities in life and discovers that the miracles of Canterbury can take surprising forms.

  

Kim Wright is the author of "Love in Mid Air" and "The Unexpected Waltz "and has been writing about travel, food, and wine for more than twenty years for many magazines, including "Wine Spectator", "Self", "Travel & Leisure", and "Vogue". She has twice won the Lowell Thomas Award for travel writing. "The Canterbury Sisters" is her third novel, and she also ballroom dances competitively. Kim lives in Charlotte, North Carolina. 

© 2014 Where the Sidewalk Ends Bookstore *  432 Main St. Chatham, Mass. 02633