Author Signings and Store Events

We love our author events and feel lucky that so many authors visit or live on beautiful Cape Cod.

If you cannot make an event, but would like a personalized copy, simply call the store to pre-pay and we will hold it for pickup after the event or ship it to you.

All events are held at the store unless otherwise noted.

To sign up for our email newsletters of upcoming events, please click here! 

Saturday, May 23rd at 2pm

The Canterbury Sisters with Author Kim Wright

The Canterbury Sisters by Kim WrightJoin author Kim Wright for a glorious half-mile walk up to Chatham’s Lighthouse Beach and back to the bookstore – a chance to chat with the author about her new book while enjoying the sunshine after Cape Cod’s long winter!

In the vein of Jojo Moyes and Cheryl Strayed’s “Wild,” a warm and touching novel about a woman who embarks on a pilgrimage to Canterbury Cathedral after losing her mother, sharing life lessons–in the best Chaucer tradition–with eight other women along the way.

Che Milan’s life is falling apart. Not only has her longtime lover abruptly dumped her, but her eccentric, demanding mother has recently died. When an urn of ashes arrives, along with a note reminding Che of a half-forgotten promise to take her mother to Canterbury, Che finds herself reluctantly undertaking a pilgrimage.

Within days she joins a group of women who are walking the sixty miles from London to the shrine of Becket in Canterbury Cathedral, reputed to be the site of miracles. In the best Chaucer tradition, the women swap stories as they walk, each vying to see who can best describe true love. Che, who is a perfectionist and workaholic, loses her cell phone at the first stop and is forced to slow down and really notice the world around her, perhaps for the first time in years.

Through her adventures along the trail, Che finds herself opening up to new possibilities in life and discovers that the miracles of Canterbury can take surprising forms.

Kim Wright is the author of “Love in Mid Air” and “The Unexpected Waltz” and has been writing about travel, food, and wine for more than twenty years for many magazines, including “Wine Spectator”, “Self”, “Travel & Leisure”, and “Vogue”. She has twice won the Lowell Thomas Award for travel writing. “The Canterbury Sisters” is her third novel, and she also ballroom dances competitively. Kim lives in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Saturday, July 5th from 2-4pm

Dogs On Cape Cod Signing by Author Kim Roderiques

Dogs on Cape Cod “I’ve lived in Chatham since 1975, the town where my father was born and raised, and I’ve always been a little bit obsessed with dogs. This book only began, though, when a dear friend arrived on the Cape with her new puppy, a Cavalier King Charles, named Murphy. From the first moment I photographed him, I began to see the Cape in a very different light; I saw it through Murphy’s eyes. His wonderment of seeing everything for the very first time made it evident how much he loved his home.”

“With that, the idea was born to create a book capturing the love that dogs have for this unique environment. DOGS ON CAPE COD features dogs of every age, from puppies to elderly dogs.  Whether pure bred or mixed, their importance in our lives always proves to be extraordinary. My hope is that DOGS ON CAPE COD captures the joy the Cape has to offer every kind of dog.” — Kim Roderiques


Saturday, July 11th – Scheduling Details to Come

Silhouette Artist

silhouetteimageParents and children of all ages will have the opportunity to purchase a heirloom original keepsake!

Third generation silhouette artist Erik Johnson will be appearing at Where the Sidewalk Ends Bookstore to create this unique and rare art form.  Erik began learning the art of silhouettes at the age of 10 from his father, Edward Johnson.  He has been creating silhouettes professionally for over 12 years.

The art of silhouettes was highly popular in America from 1790 to 1840.  However, once the camera was invented, the era of silhouettes came to an end as a form of portraiture.  Now it is a rare art form prized by a new generation who appreciate the nostalgic appeal it conveys.  Erik is one of only 15 silhouette artists in the nation. With a skilled and masterful eye, Erik uses surgical scissors to create an amazing and beautifully accurate work of art.  These mementos are created in just five minutes. Pricing and details on making appointment to come.



Saturday, August 1st from 2-4pm 

A History of the Falmouth Road Race: Running Cape Cod

by Paul Clerici